Top Picks

Full press conference: Opposition questions procedure of Speaker appointment

Published on 16 Jul 2018 3:05:54 PM

In their first joint press conference since the May 9 polls, Umno President and Opposition leader Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, PAS secretary-general Datuk Takiyuddin Hassan, BN chief whip Datuk Seri Azalina Othman and MCA deputy president Datuk Seri Dr Wee Ka Siong on Monday questioned the procedure to appoint retired Court of Appeal Judge, Datuk Mohamad Ariff Md Yusof, as Speaker of the 14th Parliament. They said they do not oppose Datuk Mohamad Ariff as being the Speaker but his appointment goes against the Dewan Rakyat Standing Order Section 4(1) which requires the candidate's name to be submitted 14 days before the appointment.