Pahang Sultan elected as 16th Agong

Published on 24 Jan 2019 5:41:29 PM

The Conference of Rulers declared after its special meeting today at Istana Negara on Thursday that the Sultan of Pahang, Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri'ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah Ibni Sultan Haji Ahmad Shah Al Musta'in Billah has been elected as the 16th Yang di-Pertuan Agong for a five-year reign beginning Jan 31, 2019.

The election of the new King was held following the unprecedented resignation of Sultan Muhammad V, the Sultan of Kelantan, as the 15th Yang di-Pertuan Agong on Jan 6.