Dewan Rakyat passes bill to increase 13 Sabah state seats

Published on 17 Jul 2019 7:16:24 PM

The Dewan Rakyat has passed a Bill to increase the number of state legislative seats in Sabah from 60 to 73. The Bill was passed unanimously with the Bill receiving support from all 158 MPs present in the House, including Sabah lawmakers.

In a press conference at Parliament lobby, Sabah Chief Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal said the addition of representatives will help ensure voices of Sabahan living in rural areas will be heard.